Making sure that you eat only gluten safe foods can be quite daunting when you are first diagnosed with Celiac Disease or Gluten Intolerance.
When it comes to the foods you can eat when you are on a gluten-free diet the avoidable foods list is much longer than the list of foods you can have. There are so many foods now that have preservatives and other ingredients that are a part of the gluten family that it makes it much more difficult to eat, but it’s not impossible if you know what to look for.
Gluten is a protein that’s found in some grains. You’ll find this protein in wheat, rye, and barley. It’s not found in oats, but some oats get exposed to other grains during processing so it’s possible to be exposed to it from eating them.
If you have a gluten allergy, eating foods high in gluten can be a miserable experience. You may find that you feel bloated and have digestive problems. You may also find that you have a hard time losing weight while some people lose weight because of malnutrition.